Greetings all!

This is the place to introduce yourself and tell us a little about yourself.....
agggilli

Greetings all!

Post by agggilli »

Hello everyone, I'm new to this board, but not to boards in general. I am over 50, so not a newcomer by any means. My new toy is a 66 beetle (as I would think everyone would have assumed). I have previously owned a 68 beetle and a 72 super beetle (about 25 years ago). I loved those little cars years ago, and when I decided I wanted a new project car, the beetle was my first choice.

Based on what I've read on here, most of you appear to be loyal to keeping the cars as original as possible, and I commend and appreciate that. I too used to be that way and have restored several other autos to original condition. This 66 however will be different, and I hope you can appreciate that as well. My background is in mechanical and electrical engineering and as such, I like to make a lot of my own custom parts. My previous ride was a 2004 Toyota Spyder that I ordered new and had built to my specifications and shipped over from Japan. Those cars were very nice, but had very little available as far as aftermarket support. I designed, built and sold internationally a whole host of parts for those cars over the 5 years I owned it. My designs and ideas have always been to make something that looks or functions better than the original or never existed, but make it appear to be a factory option. I sold it last August, because I had done about every thing I could think of and had gotten a little board with it.

Thus the new project. I searched for several months looking for a solid VW with a decent price, knowing I would be completely redoing it. This was not that easy. I wanted a 1966 or older, as I've always liked the early design VW's better. To find a solid base car reasonable was difficult, because most have already been semi-redone and I did not want to pay for new restoration parts I would not use.