Wheels and tires for my newly aquired Bug

Here's the place to come to post when you have questions relating to technical issues or mechanical questions on the 1966 model year.

billyzack

Wheels and tires for my newly aquired Bug

Post by billyzack »

I just bought my first Bug and want to put some chrome wheels and slightly wider tires on it since it needs tires anyway. `My question is what would be the most economical way to do this? Search around for some 66 VW wheels or can I use some kind of adapter to use say, a Chevy wheel or similar. I am new to Bugs and don't know my options. Thanks, Billyzack
Athen_TL

Post by Athen_TL »

The coolest thing IMHO is a set of wheels from the 356 Porsche. But they are pricey and quite hard to come by.

There are some aftermarket solutions though. Check the online shops for pics and specs.

Cheers

Boris
fatalifeaten

Post by fatalifeaten »

There are aftermarket options for your car that are the stock 5x205mm (AKA wide 5) bolt pattern. You can also get blank drums and have them drilled in 5x130 (Porsche) pattern, which adds more options (including the fabled Fuch). There are also wheel adapters for Chevy and Ford patterns, though I'm always a little wary of adapters as they WILL add track and they can work themselves loose if not correctly installed, which means they're a potential safety hazard.

The thing you need to keep in mind is that when you change to different wheels and tires you have to make sure the geometry of the wheels will allow them to be fitted to your car. Things like ride height, backspacing, wheel width and size, etc, will all play a role in what wheels and tires you can stick on your car.

As an example, Here's a couple photos of my '66 and an explanation of what I had to do in order to get the car to look the way it does.

First, a "before". This was our '66 the day he came to live with us: