Ignition System Question

Here's the place to come to post when you have questions relating to technical issues or mechanical questions on the 1966 model year.

thatguy

Ignition System Question

Post by thatguy »

OK - I am not a novice at rebuilding/redoing/upgrading automobiles of all shapes and sizes, but I have come across a problem that has totally stumped me as well as a few of my car repair friends.

The situation is as follows:

1966 Beetle w/1972 1600 Dual Port. Converted to 12v from 6v. Was running for well over a year after I purchased it. #4 piston rod and bearing shredded in the case. Pulled the motor, replaced the offending parts, reassembled the motor, and replaced it in the car. Now the difficulties begin...the motor will crank all day - but will not even cough like it wants to try to start. The fuel is flowing properly through the lines and into the carburetor so that is not the issue. When the key is in the "on" position, I am getting 12v into the coil as well as out of the coil into the distro cap. I get 12v in the center point of the underside of the cap, and 12v on the points. But here is the issue - I get NO spark anywhere!!!!! :(

I have tried getting a spark on the line coming from the coil into the distro and on the line on all 4 of the plugs with no results. I have used my coil on a separate vehicle and it starts just fine. I touched a "hot" lead to the center of the rotor cap and checked the flow of power through it and get a full 12v through it. I can hold a "hot" lead on the plug wires and get 12v through them. The ignition switch tests fine. All of the other electrical systems work( i.e. radio, lights, wipers, etc.). I have 2 manuals that I am going off of for schematics and can see nothing amiss there. Remember that this car was running at one time! I clearly labeled everything BEFORE I tore it all down.

I have done everything I can think of and am just plain stuck. I cannot see where the break is.