possible downgrade

Here's the place to come to post when you have questions relating to technical issues or mechanical questions on the 1966 model year.

crankbait09

possible downgrade

Post by crankbait09 »

I am possibly days a way from obtaining my first 1966 VW beetle (2nd beetle ever). I will post "about me" once the beetle is obtained. Right now, I have some questions about the 1966 bug, that I hope you can help me with. Keep in mind I am a total newbie when it comes to bugs.

I am eye balling a 1966 vw beetle. The current owner has upgraded the electrical system from 6v to 12v. No biggie there, really, but an upgrade nonetheless. I told this was a very good upgrade and worth every penny. Primarily due to the fact that the electrical system was running very light due to lack of power, as well as 6v replacement items are getting harder and harder to find. So the upgrade to the 12v makes sense. (this is not a big concern yet)

The second upgrade that this owner has done, was convert the original 1300cc engine to a 1500cc engine. Most of the time, I think the majority of people would be excited to have a larger engine already installed and would be content as is. I'm sorry, I am not one of those people. The deck lid has the original 1300cc emblem still in place. The 1300cc engine, from what I have read was a special sized motor for that year. I am one that likes things to remain "original", especially in a classic/collectible car such as this. Personal preference, yes. But, I'd still like to see the original motor in place.

Although the upgrades are not a bad thing at all, they are still not original.

So, with that little bit of info....... IF, I wanted to downgrade that 1500 to a 1300, would I be opening a whole new can of worms in doing so? Meaning, if I change that, is there a chain reaction of items that would need adjusted due to the downgrade? Would anyone else do this or would you leave the 1500cc in place?